Phil Méheux BSC is an award winning Director of Photography, recognized world-wide for his outstanding collaborations and photographic skills on such iconic motion pictures as The Long Good Friday, Goldeneye, The Mask of Zorro, Entrapment and Casino Royale amongst many others.

After making films as a teenager, he began his professional career with the BBC Television Film Unit rising quickly through the ranks to film cameraman on many notable documentaries and filmed television plays - many of which won awards at television festivals.

His first cinema feature, Black Joy, directed by Anthony Simmons, was the official British entry for the 1977 Cannes Film Festival. Photographing director, Martin Campbell's first feature film, Criminal Law, launched an unprecedented 20-year collaboration with films such as Defenceless, No Escape, The Mask of Zorro, Beyond Borders, The Legend of Zorro, Edge of Darkness, and the two worldwide Bond hits, Goldeneye and Casino Royale, the latter earning him a BAFTA nomination, and the British Society of Cinematographers Best Cinematography award. In 2015 Méheux was presented with the American Society of Cinematographers International Award "reserved for cinematographers of international repute who have made extraordinary contributions to the art form."


Méheux's imaginative and intelligent approach to cinematography has highlighted performances of many A-list stars from Kevin Bacon to Catherine Zeta-Jones and other directors such as Alan Clarke, Frank Coraci, Chris Columbus, Raja Gosnell, John Mackenzie, and Philip Noyce.

One of the most experienced and versatile directors of photography working today, Méheux's other credits include the controversial Scum, The Fourth Protocol, Max Headroom, Ruby, The Saint, Bicentennial Man, Beverly Hills Chihuahua, and Smurfs 1 & 2 as well as countless television and cinema commercials for the widest variety of products ranging from cars to food and everything in between.

Phil Méheux is an elected member of the British Society of Cinematographers since 1979 and has served on its Board of Governors since 1993. He was elected as its president in 2002 and served two consecutive terms. He is also an elected member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and an honorary member of the Australian Cinematographers Society.